Scientists urge international agreement on fisheries in Central Arctic Ocean
2017-10-13 17:06:42   copyfrom:    hits:

WORLDWIDEFriday, October 13, 2017In an open letter released on October 2017 the nine scientists are calling on Ca


Friday, October 13, 2017

In an open letter released on October 2017 the nine scientists are calling on Canada, Denmark/Greenland, the European Union, Iceland, Japan, Norway, China, South Korea, Russia and the United States “to conclude a successful agreement, demonstrating their commitment to sound stewardship of the Arctic Ocean and peaceful international cooperation.”

The letter comes seven months after, representatives of five Arctic nations and five major fishing powers met in the Icelandic capital of Reykjavik in March 2017 to hammer out a deal on banning unregulated fishing in the international waters of the Central Arctic Ocean.

Moratorium on fishing.

It was the fifth such meeting since July 2015, when the five Arctic coastal countries – Canada, U.S., Russia, Norway, and Greenland/Denmark  – signed a moratorium on fishing in the central Arctic Ocean until there was sufficient science and appropriate management in place.

Since then, the so-called Arctic Five have invited the likely countries that would be involved in such a fishery, countries that have a history of distant water fishing – the European Union, which negotiates fisheries as a block, Iceland, Japan, South Korea and China – to work on an agreement of some kind.

Source: The Independent Barents Observer

hot search :

prev:French Polynesia protest at Marquesas fishing project
next:IFFO announces finalists for 2017 Leadership and Innovation awards