Panama to head regional fishery and aquaculture entity
2017-04-19 16:22:26   copyfrom:    hits:

Ospesca intends to promote the fishing and aquaculture sustainable and coordinated development in the central Ameri

Ospesca intends to promote the fishing and aquaculture sustainable and coordinated development in the central American isthmus. (Image: Ospesca)


Click on the flag for more information about PanamaPANAMA 
Tuesday, April 18, 2017, 01:10 (GMT + 9)


Panama has been designated to hold the head of the Regional Directorate of the Organization of the Fisheries and Aquaculture Sector of the Central American Isthmus (Ospesca) for the next four years.

This was reported by the General Secretariat of the Central American Integration System (SG-SICA), citing a Resolution of the Council of Ministers Responsible for Fisheries and Aquaculture Activities of the regional entity.

"For Panama, a country between two oceans, this designation is especially important as it will continue to contribute to the new 2015-2025 Ospesca policy, capitalizing on experiences, updating strategies and promoting the responsible use of fishery and aquaculture resources for the benefit of the population of SICA countries," stressed the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The Foreign Ministry explained that the Panama Aquatic Resources Authority(ARAP) will now be responsible for submitting a group of three candidates for the position.

The new 2015-2015 policy involves the participation of the fishing and aquaculture sectors at the regional and domestic levels and was approved by the Council of Ministers of Ospesca, certified by the General Secretariat of SICA and endorsed by the Heads of State And Government of the SICA countries.

In Central America, a policy of integration of fisheries and aquaculture has been in place since July 2005, one of its main objectives being the harmonization of management measures such as fishing zones, joint closures, introduction of farmed species, among others.

The Central American Integration System was constituted in December 1991 by the signing of the Tegucigalpa Protocol, and is currently composed of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Belize and the Dominican Republic.

hot search :

prev:Fisheries secretariat suspends 305 lobster vessels’ certificates
next:Tasmania progresses towards supertrawler ban